A How-To Guide – From a mother of a child with a disability

iStock_000015531245_Small

There are many debates taking place at the moment between people with a disability and those without. These debates circle about with people to-and-fro’ing with their opinions and judgements. It’s great that the lines of communication are open but is any progress actually being made? Does stating our reactive emotions shake foundations? I’m not sure it does.

I am an honest, realistic, practical person. So here it goes…

Many people ask how to behave around a person with a disability, be it physical or intellectual. Here are a few tips.

My son is 10 years old and has Down Syndrome, Autism and ADHD (Hyperactivity). He is more normal than not. His disability is like a sheer vail around him that slightly alters his view of the world. It is not his whole and it is not who he is. He is a 10-year-old boy. He is not the lesser. The normal social protocols apply to us. Us being, him as a person with a disability and me as a woman who has a child with a disability.

Do not stare, it is rude. Do not allow your child to stare. If your child asks you a question or comments on the disability, answer it. Do not get embarrassed and run away, that is disrespectful to us. A simple ‘I have no idea’ or ‘it’s none of our business’ would suffice. I would prefer you tried to explain it rather than just ignore us. If you feel their staring, question, or comment was embarrassing or rude then look me or my son in the eye and apologise. Treat us with human decency and common respect. The worst thing you can do is to be rude or allow your child to be, regardless of intent, and then not address it, it is degrading and disrespectful.

Never talk down to or over my son. Greet him as you would any other 10-year-old boy, again the normal social etiquette applies. This is a reluctant generalisation, but greet a person with a disability according to their age. Never assume you know a person’s mental capacity, it is impossible to judge. Their carer will help interpret if need be. If in doubt treat the person as you would want to be treated, not you ‘in their position’, the you that you are now.

Respect his physical space. It would be strange to pat a standard 10-year-old boy on the head or stroke his face. The same applies to my son.

If he misbehaves, react as you would any other mother and child. You wouldn’t tell someone you just met that their child is a pain in the backside. Do not do that to me. If he is misbehaving he may just be having a bad day like any other person. Do not assume he is always like that. Please do not react sympathetically, like using a smile-with-head-tilt.

You wouldn’t meet a new person and greet them with “You look shit, your life is shit, and your child is weird”. This is what you are saying when you tell me “I don’t know how you do it” or “He is hard to handle” or when you see a person with a disability and assume everything is difficult and horrible for them and they are hero’s ‘for living this way’. That is not validating. Only when you know me in my entirety would you have the right to comment on my life.

How do you think it makes me feel when I am desperately in love with my son, as any mother is with their child, and you only notice the negative, just think about how hard the tough times are? It feels as bad as you would imagine.

Yes, we feel a huge amount of stress, it is often unbearable. Most of the stress is from society and the ramification’s of the reactions and inactions we receive everyday. The staring, rude comments, ignoring, patronising, degrading, abandonment behaviours we are subjected to from the people around us. We are not in a united subsection of society, there is no unification of people with a disability and their carer’s. I once joined an online group for mother’s of children with Down Syndrome. Their welcome message informed me I was not in fact allowed to use the term ‘Down Syndrome’ and could only address my son’s disability with its genetic term ‘Trisomy 21’. I informed them I would do no such thing, to put it politely. Needless to say that was the end of my association with them.

The truth is, I am the same as you. My child is equal to yours, he is their peer. We are the same as you.

My circumstances do not define me.

I am your equal. I am not different. My life is not different. His life is not different. Only our logistics are.

My son is a loving, happy and accepting soul who lives without greed, without hate, without stereotypes. He doesn’t care how much money you do or do not have, what car you drive, the colour of your skin, your sexual orientation, or whether you are fat or thin. He just see’s whether you are a good person or not. That is what makes him special.

Just because his physical looks, and his actions and reactions are not what you are used to or what you would expect, does not make him or I different. It just means you need to expand your definition of normal.

How to behave around a person with a disability? As you would a person without a disability.

Degrading question isn’t it.

Posted on January 16, 2013, in Note to The World and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Hi Nerida,

    I read this fabulous article over at the mamamia site which brought me here, and very glad I am! I guess you have read the feedback you got and all the dear little souls berating you for the “tone” of your article. I just read it as straight talking, with no sugar coating, telling it like it is; along with some excellent advice.

    I put my two cents worth in and said how I loved it. But it surprised me all the negative crap thrown your way, but it seems to be common on the site. Man, how they judge!!

    So you supposedly were a bit too angry, defensive, lecturing even?!?! That’s only the shit we deal with ALL the time!! Respect and basic good manners is not a lot to expect, but that’s a message that seemed to go straight over a lot of heads. Perhaps if you had said “pretty please, respect my son”???? * Insert sarcasm here 😛

    As you may have guessed, this is an issue I feel rather strongly about, and I tend to be outspoken at times. I used to be a quiet, shy person, but fighting battles for my children brought me out of my shell a bit!!

    • Hi Michelle,

      I’m so glad you liked the article! I am still digesting the response. Although I’m not surprised either, I was expecting it. I just hope carer’s got some relief knowing that for once we got a say. It was so important to me to not say it in a sterile or pandering manner, we live with intense emotions daily, I felt like I needed to portray that.

      Also, if we want to break stereotypes we need to start from the ground up!

      I’m really glad there was a response, people were talking about it. At the end of the day I wanted open communication, good or bad, I wanted to bring it to attention, even if it was just for a moment!

      Thanks for your great feedback, it is greatly appreciated,

      Nerida ;D

  2. I love what you’ve written. I hope more people would recognise that disability isn’t with the person, but how society views and interacts with the person. If more people viewed disability as a culture rather than a problem, we’d be a better society!

    • Thank you so much, I’m so glad you like it. I completely agree with you, hopefully one day society will change and show true acceptance through the loss of stereotypes, judgements and misconceptions. Thanks Peter.

      • It’s hard to get people to shift their mindset, but we have to keep trying. It somewhat ironic that most disability is invisible to society, with 20% + of people identifying as having a disability. Most people will interact with someone with a disability daily yet not notice it.

      • Excellent point, that had never occurred to me!

  3. I taught many kids with “learning disabilities”, ADD.etc and other special needs. I never failed to learn from them. People with special needs are a gift to the world…they open us to new ways of perceiving, doing and understanding. They teach us about the power of perseverance and determination. They teach us to open our minds and to open our hearts.

  4. Hi Nerida,

    First, let me start by thanking you for becoming one of my followers. It encourages me to continue my dedication to helping people understand that people like myself, your beloved son, and thousands of other Autistics are human beings and have a voice of our own.

    I thoroughly enjoyed your clear, concise and point blank article explaining the truth with out any need for bullshit sugar coating. It us refreshing for me as an Aspie and a fighter for a cause knowing I am not alone.

    I have become a follower of yours as well and would love discussing a possible co-authoring project, like a mutual interview. I know as an Aspie (Aspergers Syndrome Diagnosed), I would love to bounce questions off of you to understand a parents point of view. Mine have given me wonderful insight on my own experiences and would love to expand on this.

    I encourage you to continue writing and ask God to go with us as we continue this wonderful journey involving the beauty which is Autism. Thank you for your support and effort as a mother and a supporter of a wonderful group of people.

    Respectfully yours,

    Jim, Writer of Jim’s Autism Journal

    • Thanks Jim, I’m so glad you liked the article! I would be more than happy to work with you and ofcourse I will answer any questions or ideas you have.

      I look forward to reading your posts.

  5. This was great. There is no getting too emotional or defensive when it comes to our babies and others’ ignorance. This was perfectly worded and your perfect expression of exactly how you feel. I appreciate your honesty and will “press” this to my page on language.

  1. Pingback: Thank You « Carer's Truth

Leave a comment